· 

How to move like a robot

This weekend I took part in a body-control-workshop in Burgweinting. And the teacher was Benjamin Shade. Benjamin Shade!!! I bet you don´t know him, haha. All that you have to know is that he is a very successful dancer from Straight-Outta-Compton in Los Angeles, who has already worked with Justin Timberlake and Britney Spears. At the workshop Benjamin was super friendly, someone you can definitely have fun with.

 

But what exactly is body-control and what do I need it for? Body-control is the ability to move certain parts of your body without moving the rest of it, so you simply have the control over it. It is very important to do certain steps and movements in dances such as hip hop. And that´s what we did. Popping, Tutting, Isolation, Sliding and Waving, which are just a few parts of the big dance style “hip hop”.

 

At first we warmed up a little bit by doing jumping jacks, crunches and stretching. After that Benjamin taught us an arm wave. Haha… Not easy at all! But once you understand how it works, you can`t stop! I`ve done it for hours at home, I swear! Same with the body wave: Once you got it you`ll do it every time you see a mirror to check yourself out. Then Benjamin showed us a little choreography, which we learnt very quickly. Finally we did some sliding. This is what Michael Jackson did, when he did his famous “Moonwalk” on stage. To be honest I didn`t really get it, but Benjamin said that he would return to town. Until then I am going to practice and when I see him again I will surely understand the movement!

 

Unfortunately the dancing class was too short. But in general it was so much fun and if you have the chance and Benjamin comes back you should really try it!

 

 

 

(P.S.: Now I can say that I`ve learnt from the choreographer of Justin Timberlake and

 

Britney Spears and the Czech Dancehall Queen! :D)

 

 

 

Nina Bernabei

 

 

 

 

 

Pix: https://www.dancedeets.com/events/143167756459031/bodycontrol-workshop-with-benjaminshade

 

https://myspace.com/benjaminshade

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0